Don’t Tell Me What You Don’t Like About Yourself

One of the things I miss about college, is the simplicity of defining what you do. For those of you who don’t remember your college years, introductions normally happen like this: the basic introduction of names, and then the question, what is your major? From there you would ask, what are you going to do with that when you are done? For the most part, it ended there. Until you graduate that conversation was probably shared thousands of times, after those questions there really wasn’t much more to hit on in casual conversations. Boy, is it different when you are grown up.

Now when people find out what you do, they start asking questions. Which doesn’t sound bad, but when you work for a plastic surgeon, you suddenly become an expert and they have weird problems with their body that they always wanted fixed. I am sure it is the same for other professions; if you cut hair, people will tell you about that one time the dye wasn’t mixed right and they looked like a hooker. Or if you are a contractor, immediately they will ask you about problems they had with their homes and hint that maybe they want the friend discount. You know how it is. I think that I might have it worse, because people ask me about how we would fix their problems. I am not lying, I have had people ask me about nose jobs, boob jobs, chin implants, lypo, heel implants, and other type of implants, and that isn’t even the half of it, and keep in mind, I just met these people. I think from now on, I am just going to say that I pick up trash. How many questions come from that? On second thought, then people will ask my route and wonder if I pick up trash for anyone they know.

About knbohman

I am 25 years old. I work in Charleston. I have a pretty ridiculous imagination. If I were quieter I think I could of been an amazing librarian or museum curator. I love crafting and reading books. If I don't know something, normally I will just make it up and say it with confidence. If I had more courage I could of been a stand-up comedian. I love learning facts and quotes...and one day I will try out for jeopardy.
This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

