If You Have Never Read an Austen…

I pity you.  She is probably one the best authors of all time.  In her short life she composed 6 masterpieces, I won’t lie I would say 5 because I don’t really like Northanger Abbey.  It was her first one and I can cut her a break.  My favorite is Pride and Prejudice, I still let out a sigh of relief when Elizabeth finally realizes who Darcy truly is and in turn Darcy loses his pride and accepts Elizabeth as his equal.  A close second would be Persuasion, I hold my breathe and wait for Ann to realize that Wentworth might love her and to give him a change to say he forgave her.  Then there is Emma who had the love of a good man but was to absorbed in her own world to realize it.  Mainsfield Park is the lovely story of Fanny Price, who simply had to wait for her love to notice her and get his head out of his butt.  Last but not least is Sense and Sensibility, where you have to wait for Marianne to forget her fantasy and see that her reality is better than any romantic fantasy she could image and Elinor to realize that she is good enough for a fantasy romance.

For those of you who don’t read, first for shame. Second would be to watch them.  The best edition of Pride and Prejudice has to be with Colin Firth, I know its five hours….but its shorter than reading it.  However, the one with Kierra Knightly is okay but they talk so fast and so stilted its annoying– and if you are truly adventurous there is a version from bollywood that I love.  For Emma, I love the one with Gwyneth Paltrow.  The Sense and Sensibility is with Kate Winslet, Hugh Grant, and Emma Thompson, and for Mansfield Park I love the one with the blonde girl….though she does look like a horse.  Finally for Persuasion either version is wonderful.

About knbohman

I am 25 years old. I work in Charleston. I have a pretty ridiculous imagination. If I were quieter I think I could of been an amazing librarian or museum curator. I love crafting and reading books. If I don't know something, normally I will just make it up and say it with confidence. If I had more courage I could of been a stand-up comedian. I love learning facts and quotes...and one day I will try out for jeopardy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

