Eight Letters. Three Words.

Be. Ye. Holy.

That small statement has been rocking my world lately.  What does it mean? Does it mean just being good?  Is it more than just not doing something? How can I be holy?  I was reading I Peter 1: 15-16

But just as He who called you is holy, so be holy in all you do;
for it is written: “Be holy, because I am holy.”

Well my first question was…where was it written.  So I looked in the little margin, in the middle column that I can never understand, and it said Leviticus 11:44.  Well, actually it is scattered all throughout the Laws of the Old Testament, it seemed to pop up after God would give Moses a whole list of things not to do. It was the reason why they did or why they did not do something.  Thankfully, I don’t live in OT times, so how can I be holy?  Is it just about not doing things.  I think that answer is half right.  Being holy is being “good” but doing in a mindset that we are setting our eyes on Christ and being like him.  That is almost the very definition of being holy.  Being holy means to be set apart, declared sacred.  It also means dedicated to the work of God.

So in everything I do, I need to form my mind to think like Christ.  Everything I see, I need to see it like Christ sees it.  Anything I hear, I need to hear it like Christ would hear it.  So when Peter wrote, ” be ye holy” I bet he had a flash back of his conversation with Jesus, when Jesus said, “anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me. For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will save it.”  That is what it takes to be holy-

So starting tomorrow.  be ye holy…..

About knbohman

I am 25 years old. I work in Charleston. I have a pretty ridiculous imagination. If I were quieter I think I could of been an amazing librarian or museum curator. I love crafting and reading books. If I don't know something, normally I will just make it up and say it with confidence. If I had more courage I could of been a stand-up comedian. I love learning facts and quotes...and one day I will try out for jeopardy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

