Almost Accident and Some Self Doubt

I wasn’t driving.  Yesterday I went exploring Kathmandu- pictures and blog will sometime be updated.  I admire people that post every week.  Anyway- so I am really self-conscious about speaking Nepali;  I feel stupid when it takes me a while to generate responses, so yesterday I forced myself to go into the city.  My goal was to take a cab [talk to said cab driver], wander around shops[bartering for small trinkets], and go find a Nepali tea shop[and talk to the owner]- plus I wanted to go explore.
 So I got a taxi- and I was so proud of myself- I got in an argument with a cab driver- and I almost understood everything..even when he called me cheap- but he was ripping me off.  I finally got him to agree to drive me for a price that he would of driven a Nepali; my dad would of have been so proud.  So we are driving into the city- its like a ten minute drive, and I am practing my Nepali- a typical Nepali conversation, starts with your name, goes to where you are from, where you are living now, what you do, and if you are married- then you talk about your family.  So, me and this taxi driver are talking, about half way through the standard pleasantries, we get to the marriage question.  I always get nervous by this time- because I have already admitted my age and I knew the marriage questions was quickly approaching.  I tried dodging by telling him about my family– but he asked my husband’s name…. I, not being married, told him that I wasn’t married- he slammed on his breaks- we almost got rearended- and he demanded to know why not… I laughed, but then realized he was serious- I told him I didn’t know I just wasn’t.  He couldn’t believe it- 26 years old and not married.  The funny part, is his reaction is completely normal here- it makes me laugh.  We finally get into the city and as I am paying and getting out of the cab- he lets me know that he has two sons.  Ke Garne.
About knbohman

I am 25 years old. I work in Charleston. I have a pretty ridiculous imagination. If I were quieter I think I could of been an amazing librarian or museum curator. I love crafting and reading books. If I don't know something, normally I will just make it up and say it with confidence. If I had more courage I could of been a stand-up comedian. I love learning facts and quotes...and one day I will try out for jeopardy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

