Boudha Stupa

Another place to visit in Kathmandu is Boudha.  It is a huge buddhist stupa.  In the middle of the Buddhist Stupacircle is a buddhist temple. You can go through the door, past these giant prayer wheels and climb on the roof which is the first floor.  From there you can walk around the stupa.  All around, you see the seeing eye, prayer flags, prayer wheels- the stupa is surrounded by shops that are selling souvenirs, jewelry, buddhist paraphernalia., and food.  Walking around the top you see Tibetan monks- conducting business, collecting money, or in some kind of prayer.  Their red cloaks look itchy.

The robes just do not look comfortable- but they have nice bags.

The robes just do not look comfortable- but they have nice bags.

Senorita Spice and I wandered around- we bought some
jewelry- the headache of Boddah is avoiding religious symbols.  Almost every piece of jewelry, shirt, cloth is

somekind of prayer.  Kids play in the temple area- conning tourist or just hanging.  Holi is this week- and you can see they are excited.  Holi is a hindu holiday where they basically throw colored powder everywhere and on everyone- from sun up to sundown.  Kids normally mix it up with some water- it might sound fun…but it is a laundry nightmare- the powder stains.

Chillen with Santosh

We met a little boy who was asking for money- so we bought him lunch.  He was a charmer. We played some games on my ipad- I showed him Temple Run. He chose to take thefood home to his family.  When we were leaving- he asked for my phone number so his dad could thank us- Later that day I got a call from some guy.  Sadly I don’t know Nepali, so who knows if it was a wrong number or really his dad.
About knbohman

I am 25 years old. I work in Charleston. I have a pretty ridiculous imagination. If I were quieter I think I could of been an amazing librarian or museum curator. I love crafting and reading books. If I don't know something, normally I will just make it up and say it with confidence. If I had more courage I could of been a stand-up comedian. I love learning facts and quotes...and one day I will try out for jeopardy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

