Kendall Bohman….Teacher ?

The man that owns the house that we live in is the headmaster of the larger school in the area. He started it years ago after teaching at a school over 2 hours walk away. We had not even unpacked the bags when he asked who wanted to teach in the school. I replied that I had some interest in teaching an english or science class. Once it was known that I had a science degree- it seemed like I would be soon adding teacher to my list of things that I have done.

So he came and got me on a Sunday- and we went to school for me to look around and see what was going on- I arrived and they were lined up and doing their daily exercises. After exercising they sing the national anthem and pray to the goddess of education. They introduced me and before I knew it I was in a 1st grade class- teaching the alphabet. It was cute- but confusing when I kept changing the words…. I is for ink pot now. I guess Indian isn’t appropriate. I was happy- and then he moved me to my actual class 7th grad science. Which normally wouldn’t be a big deal….but I soon learned that there was not a translator available, my kids didn’t speak enlgish, they didn’t have a copy of the book, I can’t speak that much nepali..and did I mention that there are about 45 of them. Sweet Lord. How we passed that hour is beyond me. I walked back to the house thinking, how the crap am I going to do this…. they will never pass their exams if I am responsible. I talked with landlord- and he said they didn’t have a teacher now and that it isn’t that big of a deal. I was nervous- that is a lot of responsibility. Still completely nervous and feeling kind of inadequate I went back the day after. I got the book- looked at the pictures…prepared a lesson. Then I taught about life forms…using pictionary skills and gesture skills.

So far so good.

About knbohman

I am 25 years old. I work in Charleston. I have a pretty ridiculous imagination. If I were quieter I think I could of been an amazing librarian or museum curator. I love crafting and reading books. If I don't know something, normally I will just make it up and say it with confidence. If I had more courage I could of been a stand-up comedian. I love learning facts and quotes...and one day I will try out for jeopardy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

