The training in the last five years.

Prior coming to work in Nepal.  I worked for an ENT physician.  It was a great job.  It paid decent and my boss and patients kept me entertained and on my toes.  I learned alot.  It was during my time at the practice that I needed an ENT~ I had a chloestetoma. Small tumor that grows through you ear drum and liquifies the bones behind your eardrum.  It sounds serious and scary- but luckily I got diagnosed quick and surgery before it did anything that resulted in more than some minor hearing loss (friends and family still contend this is just selective hearing…I have audiograms as proof)

anyways.

While out doing visitation at one of the local villages, we met a women who was having some serious ear pain and drainage.  Lindy said that we could just come back later and have a look- she had a otoscope.  So the next day, we go back and lindy looks and then invites me to look.  Sure enough she had the same markings of having a chloestetoma– and the signs of having a surgery.  She had the surgery about a year ago.  She saw the foreign doctor once, got the surgery and hadn’t been seen since.  From my experience- you have to get your ear cleaned like every 4 months- because after surgery your ear loses the ability to self clean. (this is just a warning– don’t use qtips- your ear has self cleaning mechanism if left alone. So stop sticking things in your ear- it causes damage) She had a serious ear infection.  I had packed a small bag that had some supplies in it- randomly Lindy had a alligator forceps and I grabbed some peroxide and some antibiotic drops.  I was able to do some cleaning. [ Just a note- I would of never done this in America– it’s illegal. ] I was able to get out the majority of the infection and then put on some ear drops.

Overall, it was amazing to see how God can work something that I kind of viewed as a waste of time for something that helps people.  It was just a reminder that God can work all things- things you hated, things you thought were wasted, things you dread remembering…for whatever He needs.

Also- let me just say that the prescription program is RIDICULOUS in America.  The ear drops that are needed to keep ear infections at bay  are like an arm and a leg.  The only reason I ever used them was I got them for free from the sample closet.  One time I got them and luckily because of my insurance plan they were only 20 bucks for less than 2 tablespoons.  Self pay pays like 80 to 120 bucks depending on where you go….image my surprise when in a Nepali pharmacy I see the ofloxicin drops being sold for 30 cents.  30 cents. Same drop, same box- this one just has some Indian script on the back.

About knbohman

I am 25 years old. I work in Charleston. I have a pretty ridiculous imagination. If I were quieter I think I could of been an amazing librarian or museum curator. I love crafting and reading books. If I don't know something, normally I will just make it up and say it with confidence. If I had more courage I could of been a stand-up comedian. I love learning facts and quotes...and one day I will try out for jeopardy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

