Pickles and Thievery

While I would love to admit that the farming is going smashingly well- I digress, I can’t.  Farming is hard- and farming during monsoon and at a high elevation is even more ridiculous.  However, we have grown cucumbers, green beans, carrots, lettuce, kale, squash, and chickpeas.  Granted — the beetle grubs, monsoon rain levels, and soil more rocky than the seashore haven’t let us solely survive off the land- but we try.  Right now, we have been enjoying the harvest of cucumbers- but the problem we have now are thieves.

Our first farm land was far from our house- and after seeing our first crops we soon realized that we were too far from our field- because everything went missing.  Apparently stealing if you never get caught isn’t a big deal.  So we moved our field to a smaller plot right in front of our house…. and our own neighborhood kids kept stealing our veggies…. so we now have an eagle eye on our plot and instead of being over run with cucumbers…. I made pickles.

We can’t properly can because it is IMPOSSIBLE to find canning jars here- but thanks to a peace corps cookbook we get by.

Pickles (They taste just like bread and butter)

soak cucumbers over night in cold water

the next morning, cut the cucumber into either chips or spears

In a pot combine, a cup of water, two cups of vinegar, a teaspoon of mustard seed, a cup of sugar, and teaspoon of pickling spice [you can buy this or you can make it…. I use coriander seed, black peppercorn, clove, cinnamon stick- i crush everything up because it absorbs faster since these last a couple days without a refrigerator]

bring to a boil, then stir in cucumbers for three minutes

[the cucumbers should lose some of the bright green color]

fish out of pot and put in a glass jar- then pour boiling liquid on top.

Add a teaspoon of salt per quart of cucumbers, some diced onion, and couple whole peppercorns

 viola. pickles.

 or you can go buy some for a couple bucks.

About knbohman

I am 25 years old. I work in Charleston. I have a pretty ridiculous imagination. If I were quieter I think I could of been an amazing librarian or museum curator. I love crafting and reading books. If I don't know something, normally I will just make it up and say it with confidence. If I had more courage I could of been a stand-up comedian. I love learning facts and quotes...and one day I will try out for jeopardy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

