TO THE TREES.

First of all, I have no idea what that means…to the trees. But, apparently it is a quote from Robin Hood….the Kevin Costner edition. We

Hauing Firewood.

Hauing Firewood.

were carrying back firewood and I was talking to Lin and she just shouts…to the trees. She said that her brother use to say that all the time, and whole we were in the jungle it just seemed fitting. Because we cook over a fire we need to have a pretty good supply of firewood. In the beginning we would just pay for someone to get it for us– we didn’t know how the jungle system worked. bUt we quickly found that depending on others might leave you in a lurch without firewood…then having to beg neighbors for some. So the first time we went, linty and I went with an old aama. She is our friend ganga’s mother. We climbed a mountain for about 30 minutes or so- and then we started gathering wood. It was crazy, the women use a sickle like took- it’s called an ashhe, and they climb trees, split logs, and gather kindling. We gathered our wood and carried it home on our backs. Three hours of work gave us enough wood for two days. So three days later, everyone went. This time wee net with Ganga. Ganga took us up the mountai and we Hugh_001594went further- about an hour hike. We found out that its against the law to cut down trees that are still alive- and they don’t take wood that isn’t able to be burned within the week. This makes it such a time consuming effort. Plus we needed big pieces to build fires that are more efficient. So the Viking lugged home three logs and each of the girls had a huge bundle of wood. Ganga packed us like she was carrying it…. I bet you we each had like 20 to 30 pounds on our backs. Needless to say– the next morning we were all complaining of sore necks and backs. We are getting old.

About knbohman

I am 25 years old. I work in Charleston. I have a pretty ridiculous imagination. If I were quieter I think I could of been an amazing librarian or museum curator. I love crafting and reading books. If I don't know something, normally I will just make it up and say it with confidence. If I had more courage I could of been a stand-up comedian. I love learning facts and quotes...and one day I will try out for jeopardy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

