Crops, Harvesting, and Drying

In our village the main crops grown are corn, rice, and wheat. It is like all the flavors of Chex cereal. It started with the corn getting planted before monsoon, then the rice is transplanted during monsoon and then after the rice and corn are harvested wheat is planted.

Because we live here and we don’t have fields to manage we like to volunteer with friends and widows. So, first was corn. You pretty much gather all the ears of corn and take them home. Everyone here loves to eat the base of stalks…its like sweet starchy water. It is a nice snack on a hot day. After hauling home all the ears- you remove the husks and silk. It is dried out and on another day you take off all the kernels of corn and bag it. Favorite part….gathering the ears…least favorite part- taking off the kernels… it really hurts your hands.

Taking a break from harvesting corn.  The lower stalk is a treat while you take a break...its like sweet starch water.  It is better than it sounds.

Taking a break from harvesting corn. The lower stalk is a treat while you take a break…its like sweet starch water. It is better than it sounds.

After corn was rice harvest- they cut the rice stalks and then let them dry in the field. After a day, they beat the stalks to get off the rice kernels. This can be a difficult process because you don’t want them flying everywhere- so you use your feet and your hands to get off all the rice. Then it is dried and stored for winter.

Can’t wait for the wheat harvest!

Loosening the grains of rice.

Loosening the grains of rice.

We pick all the grains off- rice is money.

About knbohman

I am 25 years old. I work in Charleston. I have a pretty ridiculous imagination. If I were quieter I think I could of been an amazing librarian or museum curator. I love crafting and reading books. If I don't know something, normally I will just make it up and say it with confidence. If I had more courage I could of been a stand-up comedian. I love learning facts and quotes...and one day I will try out for jeopardy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

