Adventures in Europe

The end of March and the first week of April I was able to meet my parents and Brooke in Europe.  I know it sounds crazy- but meeting them in Europe was cheaper than coming home to America- and who is going to pass up a semi free trip to Europe.  Not this girl, my dad didn’t raise a fool.  So I flew into Germany and met my parents (plus kyle got to tag along)
We (they) rented a car and because my dad is my dad- we had to use a map and a GPS- I have no idea why the GPS

Hugh_003106_Fotor_Collage

A summary in pictures- chapels, pisa, venice, the alps, and most importantly food.

wasn’t good enough– but he proved right when we ended up in the middle of an olive grove inItaly.  We stayed at military bases in Bavaria and Italy.  We went to Munich for the day, spent time in Garmisch-Partenkirchen, went to Venice, Florence, and Pisa.  It was truly amazing- it was so beautiful; like I was looking in a book.  It was funny to kind of be back on a schedule after living in a culture where the schedule is the last thing anyone worries about-

I think my favorite thing, besides the food- I mean I was in meat, cheese, olive capital of the world, was the David.  It was in Florence and it was breathtaking- for being a chunk of rock it looked like it was breathing.  It was beautiful.
After spending time with my parents I met Brooke in London.  We rented someone’s spare room- it was right on the Thames and across the way from the O2 (that is a huge arena).  It was kind of weird to share an apt with a stranger- and to be fair I have read and seen too many horror movies not to be a little freaked out- but it was really nice much cheaper than getting a hotel.  We ended up getting City Passes- and like the people our parents raised us to be- we did enough to not only pay for the pass but to make some extra money.  Both of our parents would be proud.  We ate at dozens of street vendors (London has some amazing international delicacy because they

Towers, graves, bridges, pipe, and more food.

Towers, graves, pillow fights, bridges, pipes, and more food.

pretty much owned everyone at some point or another) had Sunday roast which is traditional and saw everything-  I think my favorite to look at was Westminster Abbey- all the dead royalty, Jane Austen and CS Lewis.  But I really loved the Churchill War Rooms- it was amazing to see his life during the war through photos, memos, and telegraphs. I can see why the man drank a fifth of whiskey and smoked a cigar before 11 am.  However- it was international pillow fight day… we missed it but the pictures were hilarious.  Also another love of London- the free newspaper on the underground.

It was amazing to spend time with my family and best friend- and to be true a fat kid…eat amazing food.
About knbohman

I am 25 years old. I work in Charleston. I have a pretty ridiculous imagination. If I were quieter I think I could of been an amazing librarian or museum curator. I love crafting and reading books. If I don't know something, normally I will just make it up and say it with confidence. If I had more courage I could of been a stand-up comedian. I love learning facts and quotes...and one day I will try out for jeopardy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

