Moving on Up.

Let me start with I am once again behind on updates, blogs, and laundry.  I don’t know what happens.  I have had internet access several times since January- but I just think I have time and forget until I am packing my bag to head back home.  Anyways.
Our new house!

Our new house!

It isn’t exactly the east side- but it is super nice.  Our new digs are about a five minute walk from our old house.  You may laugh- but our new house has its own outhouse, water pipe, we built a sink and a smokeless fire stove, we all have a bed, and windows.  I think of all the things I am excited about- the best part are the windows.  My old room was so gloomy because the only window was the door.  So sitting in there just made me tired.

This house is true blessing- we had to move from our old house because of cultural tension between our families.  We had an agreement that anyone could come into our house- men and ladies, low caste to high caste… everyone needed to welcomed…except children. never children.  Just kidding- but really if kids are alone in the house- something got stolen. After moving in it became clear that agreement wasn’t really true- and it became a real culture clash.  Knowing that we are all created equal, living in that house became oppressive.  There was no real chance of meeting in the middle- because there was no middle ground.  So as our lease closed in we began looking for another house- which was really hard.  The houses were either too far away from the community or they were falling apart.  It was really stressful.
Making Vin build planters.

Making Vin build planters.

Then it was the week of Christmas- Lin was out taking pictures of the snow in the high mountains and someone asked her if she was interesting in renting a brand new house.  She went to go look at it and it was amazing! Negotiations started- and eventually we agreed to a fair price (which is still grossly inflated, but that is to be expected)  We moved in to the house the second week of February.  Poor Vin, in his last week in Nepal, had to help dismantle the green house, irrigation system, and help me pack up the old house to move into the new house.

When we moved in most of the doors weren’t finished- we had only doors to lock the outsides- the fireplace and the sink weren’t built.  Our landlord’s family decided to keep their bison at the house.  The bathroom didn’t have a door, the cement wasn’t dried on the first floor– but even with all the minor cosmetic issues it was such a huge blessing that God provided us with this new house and open landlords.
About knbohman

I am 25 years old. I work in Charleston. I have a pretty ridiculous imagination. If I were quieter I think I could of been an amazing librarian or museum curator. I love crafting and reading books. If I don't know something, normally I will just make it up and say it with confidence. If I had more courage I could of been a stand-up comedian. I love learning facts and quotes...and one day I will try out for jeopardy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

